Project Will Not Build Anymore!

Hi, guys…I’ve gotten really depressed over this really fast. I’m working on a school project and making a game in blueprint. Foolishly I created a cpp file in the editor, and when I closed the editor, it gives me a message saying that modules were missing "Project.dll"and that I should rebuild from source. I have visual studio, but the thing is, I’m kinda new to Unreal, so I don’t know what all this fancy stuff mean when I look up solutions online. If anyone could help, I’d appreciate it. I’ll always be on standby for replies…

Open the “.sln” file inside your project folder to open Visual Studio. Then, above go to “Build -> Build Solution” and wait for it to finish. Shoud appear something like “Build: 1 succeeded, 0 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped” down below, in the “Output” panel

Where would I find this file? I looked throughout nearly my entire project and cannot find it…

If you can’t find it, right click on your “.uproject” file and click on “Generate Visual Studio project files” and it will appear. I thought it was already there since you’ve created a C++ class, but apparently not :slight_smile:

Mmmm…I did and I don’t think it did anything. I went ahead and searched by file extension (ext:sln) and nothing with that extension is in my projects folder.

Screenshot of the directory of files in your project folder after you Generated Visual Studio Project Files?

Is this what you’re talking about?

You guys??

After you hit “Generated Visual Studio Project Files” did something happen? A window appeared or something?

A progress bar appeared briefly, then disappeared.

I’d look into this issue then UE4.SLN not generated? -- Building from Source - General Discussion - Unreal Engine Forums