Project Chopper

Hi,

First I would like to introduce myself, my name is, I’m mew here and new to Unreal engine 4 , unreal engine in general, and any game engine what so ever, in fact I’m fairly new to game development as well.

I started self learning Unreal engine 4 less than 2 months ago, mainly learning about Blueprint scripting cause I have no programming knowledge whatsoever, only have some modelling experience.

So enough of the boring stuff, lets get to my project, which is my first game project ever (More of a concept demo than a full game).

Name: Project Chopper (Demo)
Time of development: 2 weeks
Genre: Arena style Multiplayer helicopters game

General info:

1- Two players local multiplayer game (single screen multiplayer)
2- Side view camera, with small arenas to fight in
3- Game is score based (the player who scores more wins), with random items/abilities spawn.
4- Can land at base to refill ammo and regain health

**So, why 2 players local multiplayer game? **

• I avoided single player game for now, in order to avoid having to deal with learning AI for now, since this is my first project I wanted to focus on learning the basics and comes with a basic playable demo. As for local multiplayer, I wanted to avoid have to learn networking this early in my UE4 learning process (Networking sounds complicated, right?)

**So, why Helicopters game?

• Years ago, me and my brother created a simple flash game with a program called (3d flash animator) with similar concept (two chopper shooting down each other), so I wanted to recreate something similar and go from there.

Features implemented in this demo:

1- Demo arena that is very basic (just a flat un-textured ground, with basic geometry as players’ bases, and basic mesh for the choppers, items I created quickly in Blender for demo purposes).

2- The arena is limited by an invisible wall for now.

3- Weapons include: Rockets and machine guns

4- Defensive abilities include: Shield deployment.