Programmable Shape - Mesh? Brush? Procedural Generation?

I am new to UE4 and 3D game development in general, and I am trying to create a geodesic sphere that I can interact with in code/blueprints/whatever. For anyone who doesn’t know what a geodesic sphere is, see below the below mesh created in Blender.

What I would like to do, at the highest level, is create a geodesic sphere that will act as a game board. I want to be able to color the pentagons, differentiate them from the hexagons, and allow a user to interact with both the hexagon and pentagon nodes via click/tap/whatever. However, I don’t know the best way to go about creating this ‘programmable’ geometric shape. I created something similar to what I’m looking for using the sphere brush, pictured below, but the hexagons are very skewed, and I still don’t know how I would go about programming it.

I am a software dev by trade and have used some 2D game dev frameworks, so I have some experience. I am just looking for someone to point me in the right direction. I have found a c++ implementation of a geodesic sphere, but it’s not for UE. I am guessing I can adapt it, but instead of spending hours trying to figure out the best way I figured this is a better place to start.

Thanks,

u

This thread has quite a discussion on generating procedural meshes

This wiki page has an implementation for procedural mesh generation in UDK

It can certainly be done - it’s something I looked into a while back for roughly the same purpose. It’s quite a lot of work however, whichever approach you take. We were using instanced mesh components from assets with an algorithm.

There’s a lot more to it than just placing hexagons and pentagons. It’s important to realise that each ‘tile’ is not necessarily a regular hex / pent, and things like having correct normals will take some additional work to get right. Since you apparently have time and interest, and I’d like to achieve the same thing, perhaps we should chat?