Professional development with Blueprint a year later

I’m a designer in a team of about 20 people. We’ve just finished our deliverable, and now its post mortem time. Among the designers and programmers blueprints are coming up a lot. I wanted to see what other people’s thoughts are in the community.

Without going into specifics, our product was a Multiplayer FPS. We’ve got a mix of people ranging from 20 year vets to relatively fresh hires from school. We had extensive experience in Unreal3.

Some challenges we’ve found with using blueprints:

Blueprints are great for prototyping, but they scale poorly with complexity.

This is the big one, and we’re trying to get a feel for where the (new) dividing line between designers and programmers is. Blueprints changed the traditional split for good or ill, and I don’t think we hit the right mix this last year.

It seems like there’s a few general workflows:

1. Do as much as possible in cpp, use bp for glue.
  2. Designers prototype in bp, create a functional prototype. Programmers then evaluate the prototype, and rebuild cpp systems from scratch in an extensible and robust way.
  3. Build half in bp where there’s high designer foot traffic, half in cpp for the heavy lifting.

We did some variant of #3. We had programmers working in bp and cpp, and designers making fairly major game systems in bp, with some exposed bits from cpp.

As a result, our knowledge base became pretty diffused. We were really asking designers to be junior programmers, which was largely OK, since we’re CS background heavy, but clearly designers building chunks of the game in bp, need to communicate with programmers on a much closer level than before.

Core blueprints were fought over a lot, and diffing seems pretty useless. I think the general consensus is that blueprints are harder to read at a glance when reviewing unfamiliar code.