Procedural Modeling, CityEngine, etc

I’m not a game developer, just an interested layman, so I don’t know much more about content creation applications than what I can glean from press releases and the occasional forum thread or youtube video, all squeezed through the bottleneck of a dial-up connection and a dedicated sneakernet. But a lot of this procedural content creation stuff, and similar “shortcuts” are pretty intriguing. Like CityEngine - if it works as advertised, it sounds like a real handy shortcut to roughing in vast urban environments. Add in terrain from World Machine, or any of a plethora of terrain creation/importation tools, and you’ve got a serious canvas to go into and paint your world on.

One question I have is about low poly foliage, the final piece of the structure/terrain/foliage trifecta. I’ve heard the word “SpeedTree” for years, like everyone else, but don’t know much about its viability for low poly game content. And other than SpeedTree, I’m not familiar with any foliage creation tools suitable for games.

Another question is about interiors. I assume CityEngine doesn’t create interiors. Is there anything similar that picks up where GIS data and CityEngine leave off, facilitating rapid prototyping/blocking in of interiors?

Also, anyone know anything about the viability of extracting data from Google Maps for game dev?

Any comments on the state of the art, the tools I’ve mentioned, viable content creation tools for game development, the distance between marketing hype and game development reality concerning same, or any other related thoughts, sources of knowledge, etc., would be very welcome.

If narrowing the subject would help, I’m mostly concerned with what I think of as “medium-fi” 3D content, like in State of Decay, or your typical MMORPG, as opposed to “next-gen” hi-fi graphics.