Procedural Mesh in c++

Hi guys, im working on a project where I really need to import data from an obj file at runtime. Unfortunately it doesn’t look like there is a function for that in unreal API so I would have to write my own parser and construct a mesh at runtime. I found the Procedural Mesh node in Blueprint API. (Create Mesh Section | Unreal Engine Documentation)

This looks pretty much like the stuff im looking for, except I am new to unreal engine in general, and have no experience with Blueprint at all. I am very comfortable with C++ so I would like to know if the same thing can be done in C++.

I would also REALLY appreciate if you guys know about a function or a 3rd party tool or even a tutorial that can save me all this trouble and allow importing of a 3D Model at runtime.

Cheers.

I currently use RMC Plugin in my project in combination with Assimp and they work incredibly well together with minimal ‘glue’ code to get assimp -> RMC to work; all you really need to do is initialize an assimp object, iterate over the vertices and face normals, push them into your RMC object. Then convert and apply assimp transformation to UE4, which I found has been the hardest thing because it requires some fiddling as assimp uses a different cartesian plane rule to UE4 so you will have to convert between the two.

It’s worth noting a few things about importing 3D models at runtime:

• If your game isn’t required to run on low end machines and don’t mind sacrificing significant FPS then it’s definitely worth your time to look into VXGI (NVidia’s implementation of runtime voxel based global illumination) if you want your scenes to look remotely good.