Procedural Generation - Study

Hi all!

Im feeling kind of shy to post stuff in here to be honest, my name is Gregorio Montesinos, im a web fronted developer at day and a lvl 0 ninja coder at night, im trying to develop a tool to help on the creation of buildings, roads and scenery in a procedural way, similar to how houdini handle stuff but inside the engine, being able to add static meshes to procedural meshes and let calculation do the rest for you with parameters, holes for windows and doors, details of the building or even use spline mesh components to create and handle more details, i still need to work a lot on this as is an early prototype and im just creating it to learn more about programing and UE4 of course.

Ill try to use this post to share with you my work with this, if you have any question about it just ask.

This is the main voronoi graph structure, green big lines are the base cells inside of there is a second pass, im going to use three passes as it seem the best way to get the shape that im looking for. Its a component based on SplineComponent but its a graph, so it can hold outgoing and incoming vertices, intersections and stuff like that.

Here you can see one cell only, triangulated and converted into procedural mesh component, im just using the borders with an equidistance so you can see the second pass, there is no random factor in the points that i generate here so the voronoi its a perfect grid.

The same but with some randomness on the cells

Every cell is an actor attached to the main object and i have some parameters to tweak them, but as this is just an early prototype its kind of ugly.

Moar cells

I hope you like this :slight_smile:
Regards and sorry for my english!
gOroº

ooooo this is awesome!

I think procedural stuff is going to be very important as games get bigger, since it’s getting harder and harder to make good details. This stuff helps so much.

Good Luck on this! :smiley:

cool