Problems importing FBX from Maya 2014 to UE4

hello everyone,

i’m new to UE4, currently having export-import problems from Maya 2014 to UE4:

in Maya, the character geometry isn’t a single mesh geo, but consists of lots of geo fragments like this hierarchy:

Geo_Mesh_group

• geo_group01
    • geo01a
    • geo01b
  • geo02
  • geo03
  • geo04
  • geo_group02
    • 80 geos
  • geo05
  • geo06

for rigging, I used Advanced Skeleton autorig plugin. it automatically created hierarchy as follows:

Group

• Main
    • FitSkeleton
    • MotionSystem (FK + IK joints, controllers)
    • DeformationSystem (default bind joints + additional facial bind
      joints + accessory joints)

when i finished rigging and skinning and tried to export the fbx, there were Maya warning and error messages as follows:

Exporting T-Pose FBX (‘Animation’ unchecked):

Warning: Complex animation baked (1)
537 attributes had complex animation. Complex animation was exported as baked curves.
(112770 evaluations done)

then I ignored it and continued importing the FBX from UE4, which gave me warning messages:

• when importing Skeletal Mesh (the T-pose FBX):

Multiple roots are found in the bone hierarchy. We only support single root bone.
Multiple roots found
Import failed.

• when importing Animation FBX:

Imported bone transform is different fromoriginal. Please check Output Log to see
detail of error.

• the final results:
  1. the char is lying, not standing (it seems like Y-up and Z-up axis switched). I had tried to change to Z-up axis in Maya, then rotated the lying character to standing, but it didn’t make the character stand

2. head geo is missing, but hair geo, which is a separate fragment, isnt

so how do I fix these issues?
your suggestion is appreciated with thanks. :slight_smile: