Problem with Unity asset

Hello there,
I am quite new to unreal and also in the third dimension :smiley:

I made some simple tests with free unity assets before I decided to buy an asset. Yes, an explicit this stuff doesn´t fit well…

mr7tEcY.png
This is the content of the fbx file (there are only some animations below).

wW9ggEx.png
This is how the fbx file looks… Ok, you can see, its a mesh with his staff in his hand, but wait… there is an other staff below…
Thats not all to mention here… As you can see from the content list, there are exactly 4 versions of the same mesh in the fbx. They differ only ni their color.

The next thing is -> The mesh is in an specific pose. Ok, skeleton seems to work right.

The first attempt was to simply import this file in unreal. This looks like this:
ZJioBSv.png
Ok, model looks right, but the staff is know real content of the mesh… The skeleton looks right, too. But there is an interesting thing:
ZJioBSv.png
The staff is part of the skeleton…

After this, I imported the fbx in 3ds max (content list):
MtvV4s3.png

I tried to delete the staff and all of the mesh duplications. In 3ds max it looks right, but importing it in unreal it has an broken skeleton (only root bone).

So, the question is: How can I delete the staff (and the duplications) from the character model with a correct skeleton? The animations are not that neccessary.

Best regards.

In UE4 if you are using a skeleton and you have something linked to one of the skeleton bones then that will be considered part of the skeleton, you can’t use Skinned meshes with rigid objects.

Yeah, ok. Thats ok for me, but how can I fix it? Like I said, I am totaly new to 3d and all its relationships, so can you please give me some hints? I am only interested in the character mesh and its skeleton…