Problem with the Play Node

Hey everyone, I have a pretty basic question here which I haven’t been able to find the answer for anywhere else.
I’ve been trying to play an animation using Blueprints. Essentially when I press Space, the animation has to play. I’ve been using the ‘Play’ node for that, which targets a Skeletal Mesh Component.

Now, each time I start my game, the animation plays only the first time I press Space. It doesn’t play for any Space press after that.
I’ve also got a projectile that’s supposed to fire each time I press Space, and that bit is working just fine, so I’m wondering why the animation bit isn’t working.

I’d really appreciate any help you guys can give me. I’m relatively new to Unreal, and would like any advice you all have to offer.

Hey!
I think for this kind of system the common practice is to use Animation Montage: Epic Doc

I don’t know why your animation play only once, i did a test on a CharacterBP, it works just fine:
PlayAnimation.png
When I press W the guy play walk animation, when I release he stops, if I press again he plays again.

Hello there, thanks a lot for this suggestion. I was using ‘Play’ instead of ‘Play Animation’ earlier, so that’s why I think it didn’t work. I do have another question though. If I want to play my animation faster, is there a way to do it with this node? I tried increasing my PlayRate, but that didn’t work.

You definetly have to use Montage, you’ll have all the options you need like play rate, and more.

Oh alright sure, I’ll go watch some tutorials on it straight away. Thanks a lot!

Okay so I learnt how to make montages like you suggested. In this case though I just have one animation to play, but I’ll have to use a montage for it to regulate the speed. However, the montage isn’t playing at all upon being called. Do you see any mistake I’ve made in these screenshots?