Problem with multiplayer damage when health is stored in player controller

Okay, I’m stuck on why it is doing this?

I wanting to have the health variable stored in the Player controller so that when players possess another character they retain the same health variable.

but when I am trying to damage a player it only damages the Host of the listen server, but when I have the variable stored locally it works as expected

(vid of health var stored in PC)

(Vid of health var stored Locally)

(Code that runs after any damage node is called)

Just to clarify I’m still learning networking and replication, just leaning as i build this game. So I’m unsure on why this is happening, cause the health variable, Player controller Ref & The player controller are all replicated

Help will be greatly appreciated

Hi @Gamingninja5115!

So we can get some more insight, would you mind sharing the portion of your blueprints that call the player damage event and/or handle replication?

In the meantime, here is some live training that directly addresses health in a network multiplayer environment as a possible solution or insight into your issue:

Network Multiplayer Fundamentals | Live from HQ | Inside Unreal

Any additional information you can provide will be a big help!

1 Like

Ok, Here is the damage logic

Input & event call
Fire Input

Line Trace logic & apply damage node

On any Damage node & event call

Going back through my code, i noticed on the event where im calling the client to update its health on player controller i was calling it on server as well, ive changed that to run on client

and i get some slightly different behaviour now.

(I’m Controlling Client 1, Bottom right)