Problem With Importing Morph Animation from 3ds Max

So I’ve been really scratching my head over this for the past day or so now. I’ve got a rigged book that I purchased from TurboSquid that uses the Morpher modifier to animate the page turning. However, when I export the FBX file (with all of the required settings checked that the Unreal Engine documentation states should be checked for exporting Morph animations) and import it into UE4, the animation of the page turning isn’t right at all. I don’t really understand what’s going on and how to go about fixing it, as I’m not too experienced with the Morph modifier. Below is a short video I made showing my export and import process and what the animation should look like in 3ds Max and then what it looks like in UE4.

If someone could lead me in the right direction on how to fix this, I’d greatly appreciate it, as it’s proving to be pretty difficult to find much information on this topic on my own.

The thing about morph targets is they can only be animated from point A to point B and can not curve, rotate, around the local transform. The reason it works in 3ds Max is because the animated targets uses a series of progressive targets to fake the pages turning as a percentage of the total animated sequence. Example at 25% the progression is 100% of that target and at 50% is at 100% of the next target with in the progression.

It won’t export to into Unreal 4 as although FBX might support morph progression I doubt Unreal 4 does.

All is not lost though.

If you look inside the Morph modifier you should see the progression section that holds the target and at what % it is at 100% and you can harvest it as a singular target with in it’s own morph channel. You can then reanimate the progression as a additive progression rather than a single channel progression and then when exported as a mesh asset with baked animation it should then import into Unreal 4 with the animation intact.