problem installing UE4 on win7, sp1 issue.

Hi, a bit of background, Ive been thinking of making a game for many years and a few months back i decided to give it a honest try since the game of my dreams has not yet materilized. was pleasantly surprised to see UE4 became free, saves me 20$! lol.

Today i got around to installing the software… except it wont install. im no PC novice but i have no clue how to get around this.

Problem: when installing, the install fails because i dont have “service pack 1” installed on windows 7. From my understanding SP1 is just a bulk file of all previous updates which i have. So as far as dependencies go i should have everything needed, it just didnt come in the SP1 container.

Solution1: Is there any way to trick the installer into thinking i have SP1? there should be no reason why my PC cant support it. (will not be installing SP1 unless i can rip out files from it before it installs). this is the solution i would most prefer.

Solution2: Buy windows 8.1 … Ive seen and used this thing they call an OS and frankly, im convinced its garbage. i know there are some workarounds to make the os more user friendly but i prefer my windows 7. i see that 8.1 does support more then 32GB and comes in 64bit flavors, which is a requirement for me.

Solution3: So since im getting this software installed one way or another, are there any other options?

Any help on this would be appreciated. im not in a major rush but i was hoping to get my first look at the software.

Hi Jener!

Maybe the first thing to try is a manual download + installation of SP1 from http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5842

Jener,