Private and Public Folder Structure

I would like to start out with I am still new to Unreal Engine. I know a bit but still have a lot to learn. I am not really sure if this should be a question or a discussion, so if it is in the wrong place I apologize.

I like a clean folder structure. For example I like all my classes pertaining to my character to be in a character folder. Inside that folder will have my private and public folder along with a folder for my animations. The structure would continue. I know this is a very light example, but the structure could get a bit deeper with the right system. So I guess my question is, are we not supposed to use this structure anymore? Feels like its a huge hassle to attempt if you like a structured folder layout. To include any header file, you have to list the entire folder structure leading up to the said file. Again with the right system could get lengthy. Am I doing something wrong? Should I set up the private public folder structure differently? Throwing all the files in the source folder is not an option. To me that is very unorganized and I don’t know, just doesn’t feel right.

3 Likes

It definitely possible, you just have it slightly backwards for what Unreal wants.

Here’s an example from one of my plugins:

Everything in Public is stuff that is meant to be included by other modules/projects/plugins/etc, so headers basically.
Everything in Private is meant only for this module, so mostly cpp’s but also headers not for public consumption.

From there you can add whatever organization you want. When you include a file, you would at the directory after Public. So if the file’s directly in Public it’s just #include "foo.h" but if you add any structure you would do something like #include "UI/foo.h".