Pretty simple print string question.

So I’m not a programmer and have only a little idea on how BPs work, however I am messing around with AI and watching Tesla’s tutorial on pawn sensing I have made a pretty simple blueprint where he detects me and follows me. And I have added the function to print a string that says “Player spotted” when he detects me. However the string just keeps infinitely printing. And I want this to print just once but I want him to continue following me without it printing again and again. I’ll attach some pictures.

Hope you can help me out!

Cheers.

Would try … but I can’t see your attachments. 8-{

I’m sorry. Please try now.

Cheers. :slight_smile:

Okay so as far as I understand … Pawn Sensing is triggered as long as there is something to sense … and it will continue to trigger. That is why you are getting the string repeated the entire . At least this is my understanding of that event.

try the “DoOnce” node and reset it when the AI cannot see the player anymore :wink:

Hi ninja move

qdelpeche is correct. By nature it senses every 0.5, if the sensing is working, then it will run the script again.

Run a sequence and the run a do once.

Solved

Okay so I did as you guys said and now he prints it just once so I guess that bit is solved, but then he stops following me after a while and then doesn’t detect me anymore even if I’m right up at his face. :confused:
Do you guys require screenies of some other stuff as well? For now I’ll attach my blueprint.

You shouldn’t put your AI Move To on the DoOnce … only the Print String. 8-}

Awesome. Worked like a charm. So now he prints it once and follows me around. However when I go out of detection and come back, he does detect me and follows again, but doesn’t print “player spotted” once more. Olli said I could reset this. How do I do this? I tried plugging the end to “reset” but that just ended up infinitely printing it once more.

Now you are getting into an issue with UE4