Presenting your VR projects to clients?

What is the consensus among board members on sharing your VR projects with remote clients? I read web streaming is out, I’m curious about what everyone has decided is the best solution?

It depends on the level of security you need/want for your clients. You could go with an MMO style, where you email the client a launcher file (usually small enough), when they enter in their credentials, it authenticates on your customer database and then installs the necessary files. After that, it launches.

Do they need UE4 or is it self contained? I’m new to sharing projects as I’m still learning to use the software. And what is a MMO? :open_mouth:

massive multiplayer online game… It would be a self contained game. Search the forums for MMO Template.

Okay and thanks!

One thing to mention since I couldn’t since I was on my phone which died, is that while you’ll be looking at the entire template, only use it for the user authentication and patch/download part of it. You won’t be designing a full “MMO”.

Basically, the flowchart would be:

Backend:

• Set up user (client) account. Username, password, simulation title, description, (other fields), download link

User(Client) Facing:

They run the launcher, and put in their username and password. The launcher then downloads and installs the “game”. At that point, everything is on their local machine.

I would suggest tying in a machine spec check to make sure that the client is running the necessary hardware. If they’re not, then a dialogue box comes up and warns the user/client that they are not using a powerful enough machine.

Or another way (easier for 1 shot deals), is to create the simulation/game/whatever you want to call it, package it and upload to google drive, get the download link, and then send them the link to download :stuck_out_tongue: Of course though, that isn’t exactly “professional”.

Great info thank you!