Pre-migration questions for UE 4 (and 5), moving from Windows to Linux

Background: I am newly coming to UE from another engine, fairly experienced with C, C#, and Java but new to C++, and I have been a Linux sysadmin for many years.

I want to migrate my development system from Windows 10 to Linux, now that all my chosen tools can run natively on Linux. I have a few questions that I’m hoping can help me plan the Linux installation, as I haven’t done that yet (the first question, below, will explain why).

• I note that only Ubuntu is officially supported, but I prefer Debian because that’s what I run on servers. Comparatively speaking, have people encountered fewer issues on Ubuntu? I’ll install that instead of Debian if there’s an advantage to doing so.
  • My GPU is an Nvidia Quadro RTX4000. Which graphics stack on Ubuntu or Debian should I be using, to get the best performance and fewest problems with UE? Are the Nvidia non-free drivers the best choice?
  • I’ve read several threads discussing IDEs and code editors for Linux, and my impression is that I could reasonably expect to use my preferred JetBrains Rider and/or vim. Does anyone wish to share advice on the Rider integration process? (I have the Rider/UE beta plugin running on Win10 now; I haven’t checked if that’s supported on Linux yet or not. If not, I don’t mind just using Rider as a standalone editor.)
  • Alternatively to Rider, I would consider using Visual Studio Code as the editor, since as far as I can tell there is no Linux version of VS Community. (One would think that if VS Community is developed in .NET, I’d be able to run it in Mono on Linux, but I don’t see any evidence of that online.) Is VS Code a viable option for UE on Linux, at least as a standalone code editor?