[Plugin] kd-tree Blueprint Function Library

Hi,

I created a first UE4 plugin UE4-Kdtree.
This plugin provides the user to build kd-tree and radius search from it.

I developed this plugin because there was no Blueprint interface about kd-tree when I used UE4 at first time.
I’m a newbie about UE4 plugin development, so the comments and requests are very welcomed on GitHub Issue page or this topic.

Project Page: GitHub - nutti/UE4-Kdtree: UE4 Plugin: k-d tree
Installation & Tutorial: UE4-Kdtree/README.md at master · nutti/UE4-Kdtree · GitHub
Download: Releases · nutti/UE4-Kdtree · GitHub

Screenshots of this plugin:

Thanks.

Very cool, I can totally see the usefulness of this for e.g. spatial search queries. One thing you might consider is to add an async version of* Collect from Kdtree *(and maybe Build kdtree too) that would run the lookup on a background thread and callback with only the results on the game thread. I don’t know if it’s needed for typical use cases though, it would depend on typical query performance cost on game thread.

Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for feedbacks.
I think an async version is useful especially Build kdtree because kd-tree is costly in building phase.
I’m now tackling to make it. But I need times because I’m newbie about developing UE4 plugin.

Hi,

I will release v1.1 which includes async version of existing Blueprint Functions.

This feature enables us to build kd-tree or search from kd-tree asynchronous with game main thread.
And also, I deleted the Actor specialized Blueprint functions which I thought redundant.

Hope you like it. Thanks.

Hi ぬっち, I have been attempting to use this plugin (On 4.23) but have had very little success. I then created a very basic scenario to test it and found I did not get the results I had expected.

For my setup, I used an array of 7 vectors to build the tree: https://i.imgur.com/MW6mHJP.png

Vectors were simple: (-3,0,0) (-2,0,0) (-1,0,0) (0,0,0) (1,0,0) (2,0,0) (3,0,0)