Please help: C++ Networking, Lobby and Game Room systems

Hello fellow developers,
I’m very new to Unreal and trying to understand it’s parts in very limited amount of time.
At the moment I work on building Room System and sort of Lobby system for clients to find games online and join them, so far I have broken down Shooter Game example and think that I sort of get the flow of such system:

GameInstance::HostGame() -> GameSession::HostSession() -> IOnlineSubsystem::CreateSession()

this is something I’m trying to build and right now I’m experiencing a lot of small problems with this system - From lack of documentation and general Unreal knowledge.

I guess my question is: Is there any good read/watch tutorial online on how to build something like that. Or at least useful tips that you guys can give me for future.

Thank you very much in advance!

What i did was i created a bp version to see what was all needed for lobby/game room, then i just rewrote it in c++.

i released the bp version under the name IronCorgi if you want something to start from, i believe there are better examples though.

Disclaimer: Writing this from memory so will probably be off a bit since I don’t know what I’m doing either.

You won’t find many helpful resources online since no complete explanation exists. You have to make sure you include the right dependencies first off; for public: OnlineSubsystem, OnlineSubsystemUtils, OnlineSubsystemNull, for dynamic: OnlineSubsystemNull. Substitute Null with any other subsystem if that’s what you want to use; like Steam. In your DefaultEngine.ini you will need something like:

[OnlineSubsystem]
DefaultPlatformService=Null

Then in your gamemode or such whenever you want to get a runtime pointer for the online subsystem:

IOnlineSubsystem* OSInst = IOnlineSubsystem::Get();

Then use that to access one of the many sub features. To host, find, join you need the sessions sub feature:

IOnlineSessionPtr SessionInst = OSInst->GetSessionInterface();