Player Start / Spawn not working

Hello everyone,

I’m quite new to UE4 and I’ve been working on a personal project the last weeks. Today I wanted to add a first person player movement (originally I started with an empty level). I found this nice tutorial on youtube: Unreal Engine 4 - Beginners Guide to Player Input (1/2) - YouTube

However, none of this is working. I made sure to override the game mode in the world settings. But that didn’t help, so I changed everything back as it was (before I used the tutorial). But since this didn’t change anything either I guess the problem is that the “player start” is not working anymore.

Whenever I click the play button, I don’t spawn at all. The camera remains where it was in the editor and I can fly and move around with the controls you use to navigate in the editor. I can even select objects and see their gizmos … in play mode! Really strange. I normally used to spawn at the location of the “Player start” …
That problem occurs only with this one project (in all levels).

Editor:

Upon clicking “Play”:

I have no idea how to fix this. Please help. :frowning:
I don’t want to rebuild the whole project since I put so much work into one level (not shown in the screenshots).

I also searched this answerhub, but coudln’t find anything that would help/work in my situation. :confused:
I’d be really glad for any tips, ideas! Thanks! :slight_smile:

A few things you might want to try,

1. I noticed that your play setting is ‘simulate’ that setting lets you spectate the game while your ai moves, items spin, etc… there should be a arrow next to the play button, click it, and click either “Standalone game” or “play in viewport” (something like that I believe)

2. if your player is touching the floor, or another object, it may be too close to spawn, try to move it in the air a bit.

Try those first, then get back to me…

1 Like

Wow. Ok 1 suggestion immediately solved the problem. XD Thank you so much. :smiley: