Player movement along Z-axis

Hello!

I’m currently making a 3D side scroller and I’m trying to figure out how to set up my blueprint to make my player move up along the Z axis when I hold a button or press on the screen, and then the player will fall back to the ground with the physics. (kind of like JetPack JoyRide). I’ve searched the internet up and down for help but can’t seem to find anything. I’m still fairly new to blueprints but know more than the average beginner. Any tutorials or help would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Please forgive me if this sounds patronizing, but because I don’t know your level of expertise I’ll explain everything in great detail :slight_smile:

1. This is a gate node, it stops execution (through “Enter”) until it’s opened, then stops execution again when it’s closed.
  2. This is event Tick, which is an event called every time the game draws another frame on screen. It has a Delta Seconds parameter that is equal to the number of seconds it took to draw said frame. The execution pin from this is routed into the Gate.
  3. This is an input node. It will fire an execution whenever the J key is pressed down or let go. Pressed goes to “Open” on the gate, Released goes to “Close.” When they J key is pressed, execution through the gate will be passed and when it’s released, execution will be blocked. You can use any key or input event for this that you want, I’m just using J as an example.
  4. This is a reference to your player pawn/character. This is the object that your player possesses and controls.
  5. Set Actor Location will manipulate the position of your player pawn. When the gate is open and execution is passed, it will change your pawn’s position.