Player controller input handling

Hi all,
I’m trying to make APlayerController handle the input for ACharacter, although I have a problem where ACharacter is linked to APlayerController but not the other way around nor both accessing each other.
I’m trying to make my code more modular, and would lake to create different controllers for a particular character e.g. controller, mouse, keyboard .etc

Here’s what I have so far… And ideas what the problem is or any tips, I’m a beginner to the framework although am quite fluent in C++ with a dislike for blueprints (So please don’t suggest any thank you).

The Game Mode:

#include "TheGameCharacterTest.h"
#include "TheGameCharacterTestGameMode.h"
#include "CharacterClasses/MainCharacter.h"
#include "CharacterControllers/MainCharacterKeyboard.h"

ATheGameCharacterTestGameMode::ATheGameCharacterTestGameMode()
{
	DefaultPawnClass = AMainCharacter::StaticClass();
	PlayerControllerClass = AMainCharacterKeyboard::StaticClass();
}

The Character:

#include "MainCharacter.h"

// Sets default values
AMainCharacter::AMainCharacter()
{
 	// Set this character to call Tick() every frame.  You can turn this off to improve performance if you don't need it.
	PrimaryActorTick.bCanEverTick = true;
	AMainCharacter::AttachCamera();
	AutoPossessPlayer = EAutoReceiveInput::Player0;
}

void AMainCharacter::AttachCamera()
{
	// Create a CameraComponent	and arm
	GetCapsuleComponent()->SetWorldLocation(FVector(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f));
	CameraSpringArm = CreateDefaultSubobject<USpringArmComponent>(TEXT("CameraSpringArm"));
	CameraSpringArm->AttachParent = GetCapsuleComponent();
	CameraSpringArm->SetRelativeLocation(FVector(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f));
	CameraSpringArm->SetRelativeRotation(FRotator(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f));
	CameraSpringArm->TargetArmLength = 0.0f;
	CameraSpringArm->bEnableCameraLag = true;
	CameraSpringArm->CameraLagMaxDistance = 10.0f;
	CameraSpringArm->CameraLagSpeed = 5.0f;