Planning on learning OpenGl and HLSL

Hello everyone…

I am a C++ programmer and I have a good knowledge on Unreal Engine 4 by now…
I am planning on learning either OpenGL or HLSL next.

I have used a HLSL little in the past and interested in learning it. I want to know what will be advantage of leaning either DirectX or OpenGl and is there way I can use that knowledge in UE4?

They are both good APIs. OpenGL is arguably better for low level coding. The PS4’s API is based off OpenGL. DirectX is built into UE4 and you can run profiling tools for it with “D3D11RHI” console command.

My recommendation its to learn OpenGL, but both have its downsides.
OpenGL: Upsides: Works on literally everything with a GPU, lots of extensions that add functionality if you want to use them, can be a tiny bit faster.
Downsides: Practically impossible to learn, the official docs arent for noobs, they are just an API, trying to find tutorials in internet its really, REALLY hard, becouse opengl doesn delete old functionality, you have like 6 ways of drawing a vertex triangle on the screen, and 4 of those are too old and not optimized at all. Driver support its absolutely terrible.

DirectX: Upsides: Easier to find proper tutorials, much better drivers.
Downsides: Its microsoft, owned by them, and only works on windows PC and Xbox, unlike opengl, wich works on everything, even phones.

I chose Opengl becouse i wanted to also program for linux, and maybe phones. But its been ridiculously hard to find up-to-date tutorials, most of the popular ones are for the way it was done 15 years ago, something like if you were learning DirectX 7 or so. This http://www.openglsuperbible.com/ is the best book you can probably buy as a noob, and has only the bleeding edge stuff, equivalent to directx11, no ancient trash there.