Pinging other servers to check if they are online with C++

I am making a multiplayer game with multiple concurrent levels and am planning on using a system where each level runs on a separate server. I want the individual level servers to be offline until people try to access them. To do that, I want to ping the level’s server and load it if a response is not returned, but I have no idea how I would do that with C++. Any input is appreciated. Thank you!

Easiest is probably to write a separate proxy program that listens to the appropriate ports for UDP or TCP (as desired.)

When it receives an incoming connection, it spins up the appropriate server process if it’s not already running, and forwards incoming/outgoing traffic between the server and the outside world, working in effect as a reverse NAT proxy. (The server can then bind to other ports, that you don’t expose to the outer world.)

That definitely sounds like a much better solution, but since I am brand new to C++ and Unreal Engine and I have never created a proxy program from scratch before, I don’t really know where to start with that either. Your suggestion did give me an idea I am going to try though. I was planning on having a “lobby” server that players would initially join which would have every player’s previous world and location saved and would send them to that place. I am going to try having players return to the lobby server when they want to change worlds and have that server keep track of which worlds are online.

What’s the upside of doing the reverse NAT proxy thing though? That sounds like a lot of work just to avoid exposing a couple more custom ports on a machine…

Besides, the proxy program wouldn’t just work out of the box. One cannot just join an UE4 process then try to swap it for another without UE4 noticing! You should expect a bunch of issues and bugs, or even security-related errors.