Pinball collisions problems/advice

Hi everyone,

I’m new to unreal engine, and I’m learning how to build a game. So far I decided to build a pinball, very basic, just to learn how to import models, create class blueprint and pretty much basic things.

I manage most of things I needed, but, I get a really big problem using collisions in unreal.

I have that physic ball that is working pretty much as I want, my left and right triggers are correctly mapped to my controller, everything is colliding, but at a point the ball jump behind or go through my triggers, specially if I kick the ball quickly (let’s say 30 degres in half a frame). You can imagine it’s a big problem for a pinball game…

Could someone help me to figure it out, like having solutions for a perfect collider (I’ve tried custom meshes for collision, even with larger volume than needed).
Does unreal have any kind of substeps regarding the physic engin ?
How would you build this situation if you had to do a pinball game ?

Many thanks, and sorry if I’be posted my request in the wrong part of the forum.

if i understand right (not english speaker)
Check that if this its your problem
http://www.stencyl.com/help/view/continuous-collision-detection/

if its that, try activate CCD in your critical meshes like ball…

Anyway when i try few things i have problems with collisión when objects go too fast, CCD help alot but not good enough in some test.

Hope CCD help you.

Hi Knack,

Thanks for the quick reply, unfortunatly I’ve tried CCD and it does not fix the problem , it’s better but instead of blocking the ball, it push it in random direction (except the one I want of course …).

Any other technic I can use to push my ball with those triggers ? blueprint ? expressions ? clamping the speed rotation of my triggers ?

Thanks.