Pickup Ball Problem

hi, I’m pretty new to the ue4 blueprints.
I’m trying to make a character pickup a ball through the ball blueprint.
I’ve set a begin overlap to a box collider on the ball to enable the character and activate the pickup/drop events.
The pickup is supposed to place the ball in the position of the scene object “ball position” with a physics handle, but when I play test the blueprints stops at the branch after the LineTraceForObjects. The dropped event and the tick event for the position of the “ball location” seem to be working though.
What am I doing wrong?

Print out the hit value, it’s probably false.
also, maybe one of the Cast to is failing… set up a print string to flag the possible errors.

You’re right, the hit value is false. Do you know why?

Your “get forward vector” node is multiplied by a float of 0. Which would make your pick up distance 0. Set it to a higher value(1000) and test to see if it will still give null value.

Probably the fact you are testing only physics objects? You are also ignoring self as a result, so if this code is on the ball that’s probably why.
you said you did this on the ball…

Yes, this code is on the ball. So I unchecked the Ignore self. I want this blueprint to work when the ball collides with a third person player. So if physics body object type is not what I should test, what should I test?

Okay, reread through your code. You are getting null because of 2 things. Your trace is only looking for physics bodies, which are set in the collision settings. If you want the ball to trace, it needs to be pawn. 2nd is you are multiplying your get forward vector by 0. Which nullifies it’s range for the trace.