Pickable Items, the best solution

Hey all!

Thank you for clicking, I am new to unreal engine but I am learning fast, and really enjoying it. I have a question regarding pickable items (Meaning items the player can pick up)

I have an inventory system working and have created an actor that can be picked up and used by the player to affect their health status/Mana status. All of the details for this actor are able to be modified in the details panel within the editor (Static mesh, inventory image, examine info/pickup text/action text, and variables created for the amount of health or mana to add) etc.

For making other items with similar effects (Other consumable items), would it make sense to create another actor for each, or use the same base item but change the inventory image, static mesh, examine info and variables etc within the editor? (For instance a meat item and a mana potion from the same actor, but modified variables in the editor for each instance so that one restores health and one restores mana)

If anyone answers, could you please also include “why” one way is better?

Thanks in advance,

What you ask can be done in many ways, the way i would personally do it is by making a base item with all the functions and variables for everything pickable, than i would make a new class derived from the base one for consumables and do more specific functions like drinking or eating.

This way you would have more control over your items without breaking too much later on.

So the hierarchy would look something like this:

PickableItem_BP - Consumables_BP  - Food_BP
                                  - Drink_BP
                                  - Potions_BP
                - Weapons_BP      - Sword_BP
                                  - Mace_BP
                                  - Axe_BP

What I was asking was more in regards to each specific items. That post was helpful though, thanks a lot!