Physics Simulation Test Case - Need Help

Hey Everyone!

I hope I am posting this in the proper location.
I am fairly new to C++ and the Unreal Engine architecture, but am trying to learn and become more familiar with it.

Here is what I am trying to achieve:

Test Case:

• Ball Mesh (Particle Representation)
  • Pipe
  • The Ball (PR) needs to move in a direction with a set velocity down into the top portion of the pipe where it will collide with the inside wall of the pipe. As it collides, it gains speed and deflects where it collides yet again, deflecting it and causing it to gain even more speed. This process will continue until the Ball (PR) is moving at incredible speed and has stopped moving downward in the pipe but is deflecting off of the walls at a standstill level (these results must be as accurate as real life and need to be accomplished using the physics systems/engine within ue4). Performance is not an issue right now as this is going to be an experiment to simply spit out data that can be viewed after the simulation has been run.

Any help on where to start, what I need to look into, or any other tips would be great.

-Jeremy-

Hi there and welcome,
I’m a bit confused because you say that the results must be accurate to real life, but you want the ball to gain speed with each collision? Could you clarify what you mean?
Cheers

Dear Jeremy,

The must fundamental first issue is that as of 4.5 Epic still has not addressed the issue that you cannot use the Physics engine with static meshes whose collision is set to per poly (complex as simple).

I have already reported this issue here.

AnswerHub

To do what you are wanting the very first thing you will need is your concave pipe shape with proper physics collision.

Unless you did this by hand somehow I imagine you will want to wait until 4.6 / whenever we can use complex as simple with physics engine.