Physical Material (what am i doing wrong)

I have little experience with Physical Materials, but it doesn’t sound hard.For a small test i did:

1.final rigged object
2.the object has a finished physics asset .
3.while still in the PhAT editor, i selected each of the created collision boxes and on the right in ‘‘phys material’’ i have imported a physical material
4.The physical material was created as standard (right mouse button> new physical material and it the properties of that physical material i have ‘‘impact threshold’’ set to 3 and in ‘‘impact effect’’ i have a particle effect plugged in.

Now in theory if i drag that physics asset (KAsset) on the map and shoot it with the link gun, the particle should play on the place where it was hit by the projectile.But no particle is spawning/ playing… Am i using right the Physical Material?
Missing a step perhaps?

I never used it, but I think you need to read the physical material when hit the object, then get the particle from the material and then spawn the particle.

In the same way that the footstep sounds reads the physical material from the ground and then you play the sound / spawn the particle.

Although I think Kactor already had something that doing it automatically.

personally I never could get the PhysicalMaterial’s built-in impact effects to work, and added code to manually spawn such particles on my own KActor’s RigidBodyCollision event
but I guess I can take a look at the native code and see if they actually do anything and how to trigger them

it appears the physical material’s impact and slide effects are only used on KActor and FracturedStaticMeshActor - for everything else you’ll have to do it manually

It is as default in landscape functionality like if you trace down you can check what kind of surface you have " differentiate between layers ". Instance sand snow river ground…
In UDK → UDKInstall-2015-02.