Perforce Syncing and Asset Refresh

I’m building the 4.6 branch right now and we just spent the last week getting our perforce server up and running. Now that we’re up and going, we’re having some really fundamental source control issues that are confusing. I’m not new to source control or perforce, but I am new to the workflow in UE4. After reading all available documentation, the workflow seems to be quite simple, so I’m unsure if the behaviors we’re seeing are intended, bugs or a mix.

Here are the 2 scenarios where we’re having issues. I should note that all of our interaction with perforce is being done through the UE4 editor. We aren’t doing any commits using P4.

Scenario 1: The Sync of Death
Client A: Check out Blueprint X
Client A: Make change and check-in Blueprint X
Client B: Right-click Blueprint X and sync

Result:

• Blueprint X appears to sync
  • Blueprint X remains unchanged in Client B content browser
  • Blueprint X continues to have sync option on Client B
  • Blueprint X can be checked out on Client B and Checked In which overwrites previous commit
  • If Client B restarts client, asset is updated

Scenario 2: Edit Locked File, Can’t Undo Modify
Client A: Check out Asset X
Client B: Double click Asset X and change a property.
Client B: Clicks Check Out Notification. (this should fail)
Client B: Realizes that they can’t check out, hits cancel.
Client B: Attempts to sync Asset X but can’t because Asset X is marked as modified

Result:
User forced to restart UE4 editor to avoid saving asset.

Are others experiencing these two issues? Did we pick a bad time to build from 4.6? These two issues are really making it difficult for our team to collaborate.

I’ll add that one reason Scenario 1 is problematic for us is that we’re trying to keep artists out of the P4 visual client. We’d like for their entire workflow to exist in UE4. This means they rely on sync refreshing their view of assets.