Perfect Dark Remaster

Hi,

I am an industry professional with over 11 years of experience (6 in QA, 5 in my current role as a Technical Designer), have been using UE4 professionally since late 2014, and have shipped one game on PC/PS4 with the engine. I work with UE4 in a AAA studio and while I do get to touch several aspects of the game and engine every day, I don’t necessarily get to touch all of them (which is expected in a AAA setting).

I’ve had a few side projects over the years as a way to stay up to date with UE4 but decided to start this more serious project a few weeks ago after stumbling upon some Perfect Dark and Goldeneye “hacking” websites. I have fond memories of playing PD on N64 and thought that remastering it would be a fun, challenging and most importantly achievable/realistic (from a technical POV) project.

OBVIOUS DISCLAIMER:
I’m fully aware of the legal issues around remastering an existing IP. If this ever sees the light of day it will of course be as a free release, and if it gets hit with a C&D then that means we did a good enough job to start with ;). The main goal of this project for me is continuous improvement/learning new skills and I’m okay with that being the only takeaway. If you want to help with this project, you should be, too.

The Plan:
I use the term remaster purposefully. The idea is not to remake Perfect Dark, but to update it to today’s visual standards while also making minor changes to some of the elements that did not age well.

The only major change is to use a modern PC/Console shooter aiming system (without ADS), since the Goldeneye/Perfect Dark aiming model was more a result of physical limitations with the controller than actual desirable design.