Pausing your Game when Steam Overlay becomes Active

Hello.

I have written a guide to help you pause your game when the Steam Overlay becomes active. It’s quite extensive, but is very thorough, so I hope people won’t encounter any bugs, errors, or crashes like I did. I spent more than a month trying to get this to work and became very frustrated at times.

Please feel free to correct any spelling or grammar issues. If you think my wording choose was poor, please feel free to edit it out. English ain’t my first language, so I bet I screwed up at some places.

Cheers!

Hi Motanum,

I know it has been a long time since you have posted your tutorial, but we are now in 2020 and I am a blueprint only developer which would like to know how to pause a game when the steam overlay is called.
I have followed your tutorial with care, but at the time of compiling the code (in Unreal or VS), I have a lot of errors.

I would like to know if you could test and rewrite your tutorial for the latest engine and steam sdk (I’m on 139). Or if I could show you the errors given by VS?

If anyone comes here and has any idea of how to do this please let me know.

Many thanks!

Michael.

Michael. I am using still basically the same system as the tutorial. It does involve CPP, as I found it easier to write it down in CPP as the API for steam is in CPP.

What errors are you getting? Is this a blank project? When did the errors come up? I suggest that if you are new to coding, to compile often, just to catch errors in small batches than to write a full system and then compiling.

I agree always compile often or if in blueprint run the script and catch errors as early as you can. It is increasingly harder to troubleshoot errors as you get more of them. The more you have at once the harder it is to tell what is causing you the headache and it can get rather insane rather quickly.