PAN★TZU - a pixelart style Visual Novel

PAN★TZU

Prototype vid:
TBA

The plot:
A shy, introverted girl, with a dream to one day become a game developer starts her first year of high school. There, she sets out to build a team and form a game development club.

Gameplay:
At it’s core this is a visual novel. But sprinkled in, there are various minigames that take the place of the “choices” seen in normal visual novels.

Art style:
Pixel art

Audio:
I’m so far handling audio with FL Studio, but since I’m not much a composer (yet) there’s not much to about it, other then I’m trying to aim for something cheery and happy.

Origin:
The game was inspired by the original Metroid on NES, when I started playing with the idea: “what if Metroid was set in an anime high school,” one day. Then it was one (stupid) idea after another and the game started to come together. And now after further design and redesign it has turned into a visual novel. This might not be even it’s final form.

About me (I know people usually start with this, but I think the actual game info is more important):
I’m a uni student with a dream of developing ever since since preschool. Currently I’m studying for my Master’s and I’m thinking I finally need to provide some results before I graduate…
I like games (probably quite self-evident), my favorites being JRPGs, among which my favorite series is probably Hyperdimension Neptunia.
I also like anime (also probably quite self-evident), my favorites being shows like Lucky Star and Gintama.
And based on those I’m aiming for something fun, yet genuine. Something that has heart and doesn’t try too much… but we’ll see where this goes.

PS. As for the name, you can think of it like “pan” = bread /all, and “Tzu” as in Sun Tzu… that’s where I got the inspiration for it at least.

UPDATE #1 (post-prototype):

I fixed some small problems I found in the prototype and I also improved the BGM system so that it’s easier to control between levels.