Only Overlap with a specific component of Third Person Character?

Is it possible to set up an Overlap event with only a specific component of the Third Person Character?

I’m trying to create a collision event between an enemy and the player character but only when two specific collision boxes overlap. Right now, its always the player characters capsule component.

Yeah, you can do that like this:

Thanks! I’ve got the enemy character component casting to my third person character.

But, I’m trying to find a way to be more specific about what part of the third person character, I don’t know how to go about setting that up.

what exactly do you mean? The specific part comes from the on component overlap. You choose the component there

drag off the blue dot and type “get (whatever component you are interested in)

Sorry for any confusion. I’m fairly new to this and I’m not sure if what I’m asking is even possible?

I was hoping to use the “As BP ThirdPersonCharacter” to specify a component like a collision box. I can drag off that dot and get a reference to it, but I have no idea what to do from there? What is the next step?

I’d swear I’ve seen something like this in a tutorial once, but I have no idea how to set that up.

can you explain in simple terms what you want to happen in the game?

I’m trying to create something that’s almost exactly like Super Mario, and there are two situations you have to deal with when it comes to enemies. If you bump into an enemy it deals damage to you, but if you jump on its head you kill it.

The way I have it set up it “sort of” works. The capsule component on Mario blocks the enemies and when you hit the collision block on their head it kills them. Great!

But, the problem is that its very easy to get an accidental overlap and kill them just by standing next to them.

The ThirdPersonCharacter’s capsule component is just too big for this particular situation, its like using a sledgehammer when you needed a pair of tweezers.