One way viewpoint door possible in code?

Let me begin first hat i am not new to c++, but i am still quite new to the unreal api so if throughout this post i make mistakes please bash me so i may learn.

I was wondering if anyone had any ideals on how to make a single viewpoint door or if that is even possible (or if my terminology is even close to right). Basically imagine there is a free-standing door in the middle of a plane with nothing behind it, you can walk behind it and just see the backside of the door. If you open the door it leads to a staircase and you can walk down the staircase yet if you open it and walk around to the back of it, you just see the plane you and the door are already standing on. You can walk through the back part of the door and go nowhere technically but if you turn around you see the staircase again. One way viewpoint is the best terminology i can think of for this.

Question is what would be a decent way to implement this in code if it is actually possible?

Is this what you’re after? Unreal had Portals before Unreal 4, but they appear to have been taken out.

Unfortunately I don’t recall seeing any decent implementations in Unreal Engine 4. It’s a shame because there are a lot of modern games using similar features, such as Portal and Antichamber. (Written in UE3/UDK)

I did this in UE2 by using the stencil buffer to draw the portal over the main scene, and I think that is the standard way of doing this no matter what the engine is - given how heavily the stencil buffer is used by the engine though, in both UE3 and UE4, doing this would probably require expert knowledge of the internal rendering system, and a lot of customization, in order to make it work.

Disclaimer: I know next to nothing about working with the rendering system :wink: though this would make for a lengthy/fun and highly educational project.