On Restarting Editor, Actor BP Pin Disconnects due to UMG Widget

Version 4.7.5

I am not sure if this is a bug or just a limitation since UMG is still a WIP, but I have noticed when using UMG widgets that if you store too much blueprint code within them, then it causes any actor’s blueprint nodes that make a function call to that widget to disconnect whatever was plugged in to the function’s input pins.

In my scenario, I have an actor called Pickup_Master which calls to wdol_InGameInventory whenever an item is picked up, and passes a reference of itself into the AddItemToInventory function. Each time I restart the editor, that pin disconnects like below (problem doesn’t occur when compiling):

In the UMG widget itself, nothing disconnects and it has no problems. At max zoom out, I managed to capture the entirety of blueprint code within it which looks like this:

However, I found while messing around testing what could be the cause of the pin disconnecting was that disconnecting nodes from the switch node that manages actions depending on the type of item picked up caused the problem of the pin disconnecting to go away.

I tried it by disconnecting one of each different collection of nodes from the switch statement node at a time, and I got the same result of it not disconnecting on restarting the editor. Therefore, I believe that this is possibly a bug or just a limitation on the amount of code that can actually go inside of a UMG widget.

For now, I am going to try creating an actor to offload some of the inventory code from that UMG widget into it, and see if I still get the problem.

Hello Snow901,