On Hit - Physical Materials?

I’m very new to Unreal, and I’m trying to understand how the ray projection system works in regard to accessing information about which area of an object is struck by a bullet or such.

It looks like we can easily determine which component of an actor was struck, but I’m wondering if there is any way to custom-define different areas of an actor or component. For example, if we had a bench made of metal and wood which used a single component and single render material. Is there any way to separate the wood from the metal beyond creating two separate static mesh components?

In my own custom engine (back in the good old days), I simply defined two collision meshes in these situations, where one was defined to represent wood and the other metal. This allowed the object to be quickly rendered while still being able to define physical material skin in a separate process. Is something like this possible? Maybe some way to detect which convex object was struck (would also need some ability to define a custom tag in convex shapes).

I’m just looking for any general information that would help in this area.

Thanks for any assistance!

You can add a physical material profile to the material itself so that it may return metal or wood depending on what was hit.
it’s a little more accurate then different collisions would be since collisions are usually supposed to be sloppily defined and not have many verticis, however it is also true that one may not be able to actually hit the material if the simple collision IS sloppy and prevents contact.

I believe you can set the pysical material in 2 different areas, one being the mesh LOD parameters for the material (or somewhere in the actual mesh) and one being within the actual material.

Depending on how you set up the object, the collision, and the projectile collision, you can more or less easily figure out what was hit and take different actions.