NPC walking along spline

Hi!

I’m still rather new with Blueprints in UE4. What I want to do is an NPC walking along a spline with a specific walking animation from Movement Pro. At the end he turns 90°, idles in a specific animation for a certain amount of seconds, turns another 90° and walks back. He cycles through that indefinitely, nothing more. I don’t need interaction, I don’t need any other AI capabilities.

Now, I was digging through quite an amount of tutorials already and came across a bunch of possible functionality. My problem is that I can’t filter what I need and what I don’t, as most tutorials either show how to make a playable character with Idle/Running/Jumping StateMachines, or showing way more than I’d actually need like working with Behaviour Trees and AI functions. After 5 hours of YouTube and Udemy videos I’m honestly more confused than when I started.

How do I approach this task? Which of the numerous UE4 functions (StateMachine, Blendspaces, Behaviour Trees, …) do I actually need? Any help and directions are appreciated.

Thank you very much!

My approach would be a timeline inside the NPC that controls the rotation and the position of the NPC. Each update it would update the world position and rotation of the character based on the value of the timeline and it would repeat. For animations all you really need is a 1d blend space with idle on one end and the walking animation on the other. In the anim blueprint you get the linear velocity of the character and plug it into the blend space. It is worth mentioning if you want the animation to fade in as the character speeds up you need to make the end value of the blend space the speed the character will be moving.