NPC movement in extremely large levels

I’m just getting started in UE4, so I apologize if this is a pretty obvious question, but my game has a large number of NPCs (numbering in the low hundreds) who need to do three things, even when the NPC isn’t around: 1) move around the map based on conditions I set in the AI, 2) Find interactable objects in the level (when the AI says they should go to work, they actually accomplish this by locating the computer/counter/cash register at their job and pathing to it), 3) Remain aware of what other NPCs are nearby.

It seems like the simplest way to do this would be to simply give the AI a “smart” AI for when the player can see them, and a “dumb” AI that is much more optimal and ticks much less frequently when the player isn’t nearby, or even used a centralized queue to manage when an AI ticks and prevent bottlenecks. However, this all hinges on how UE4 likes to optimize levels, and although I’m prototyping the whole game inside one building I’m eventually looking at simulating an entire city, which almost certainly means hyper-aggressive level streaming, which in turn means that 90% of the world geometry won’t exist for NPCs to query and pathfind through.

Is there an obvious solution to this issue, or am I looking at building a pretty complicated simulation to completely divorce NPC movement from level geometry?

There’s actually a pretty smart solution to this problem in a paper by Sunshine-Hill, who was one of Prof Norm Badlers PhD students and now works at Havok I believe. The paper is called “Perceptually realistic behavior through Alibi generation”.

http://repository.upenn.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1119&context=hms