"Not" vs "!=true"

I’m new to UE4 and was going through the character movement tutorial by to familiarize myself with blueprint visual scripting. I noticed that to invert a Boolean value, the guide generally used a “!= true” block, as opposed to the “not” block. Is there any difference between these two blocks in regard to functionality?

https://docs.unrealengine.com/Images/Gameplay/HowTo/CharacterMovement/Blueprints/AnimBP_CrouchIdle4.jpg

Another time it takes a boolean value and passes it through an “== true” block (pictured below) before passing the output value, which seems unnecessary, as the output will always be identical to the input “Is Prone”. Is there any reason for this as opposed to passing the original boolean value?

https://docs.unrealengine.com/Images/Gameplay/HowTo/CharacterMovement/Blueprints/AnimBP_ProneIdle3.jpg

I’m confused because I can’t imagine that the guide would have unnecessary complexity or unnecessary blocks, but I also don’t understand why “!= true” is used over “not” or why “== true” is used at all. Thanks!

The “!=” & “==” are used to compare two values, where as “Not” is used to flip the boolean value. In the first screenshot, I believe they’re not trying to invert the value, but rather just checking if the value of “Is Crouching” is not equal to True. So if the character is not Crouching, then it can enter the animation transition.

You can actually check out this video to understand what each boolean node does:

Furthermore, that channel has information on most blueprint nodes in Unreal. A lot more so than what you can find in the documentation.

Hello there, (disclaimer - This is just my understanding, I could be wrong)