Noobie Spec Info!

Hello community,

What is the lowest size of graphics card you recommend I use for UE4? I’m newish to this, I just bought the Game Implementation Audio for UE4 book, I have a music production degree, I studied FMOD and Unity at a basic level. I’m looking to buy a refurbished iMac, my budget is around £1000 but can stretch a little.

Also with regards to SSD vs standard spinning disk hard drive, is there any significantly noticeable difference I should be weary of for game audio implementation? Keep in mind I’m just starting out and won’t be using UE4 or the iMac for any high end multi application graphics etc.

I have been offered an iMac 27" 2011 model, 8gb ram, 2gb graphics card, 3.4ghz i7, 1tb Hdd for £775.

I have also been offered a similar machine, but 2013 i5 fusion drive 2tb 256 SSD 16gb for £1065.

There are several other similar offers out there, it’s becoming mind boggling!

Any help, education and advice from you experts would be most welcome!

Things that are on my mind are, graphics card, year of machine, type of hard drive, size oh hard drive, speed of processor, amount of ram, display.

Thanks in advance

Cheers

Don’t buy a mac for game development. You can get a far better pc for the same amount of money…

I’ll take that onboard, however I’ve been told the opposite is also true.

Right now switching isn’t an option for me as I have a fair arsenal of music production weaponry on my Macbook Pro which I don’t have the time or patience with to cross grade all my licenses or re-isntall. I think for audio implementation an iMac of this spec will be fine.

Agreed, You are limited by budget yet you want overpriced hardware.

I googled for some part picking website in UK, here is what you can get for 1100 pounds:

https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/4VJ9LD

amd ryzen, geForce 1080, 16gb ram. Much better than those apples.