Noob needs help: Moving Units

Hi. I’m totally new to scripting and am trying to put a basic game together via blueprints. the game is based around a chess style turn based system.

I need some advice on how to approach grid based movement. the things i need to do are:

• within the unit blueprint, define where it can move to (each unit will only be able to move in a certain way e,g bishop moves diagonal. pawn moves 1 space forward and can take 1 space diagonally forward)
  • when a unit is clicked on, its possible moves are highlighted on the grid and if a grid space is clicked on the unit moves there.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I kinda want to achieve something along theses lines seen in this video:

It’s quite a lot to explain in detail, I’m doing something remotely similar and might be able to give a general idea how I’d approach it.

I’d suggest creating a 2d array of the entire map (you’ll have to do this yourself, I’m using 2 arrays - one for X and one for Y) and probably write a few functions to I/O between world units and grid/array units. You can then also place obstacles into this 2d array, as well as characters etc. Store the actual actors into these arrays so you can quickly grab items/players/etc from grid coords, so both will essentially have grid coords and world coords this way. Then writing out the number of units your unit can move becomes quite easy with for loops.

I’m not sure how new you are but the mouse events are easy to handle, there’s a bunch of tutorials for that out there.

Hope that helps somewhat. There might be better ways to do it but frankly I don’t know of any. :slight_smile:

Good luck!

This seemed like an interesting challenge to try and figure out, so I took a few hours and gave it a shot. It’s probably not the best way to do it, but it sort of works.

I’ve got 3 main components that interact with each other and then some helper stuff.