Download

Noob explanation version of functions.

HI, I’m a non programmer who trying to learn Blueprint.

I need someone to explain how these function works and what does it use for in a very basic way so non programmer like me can understand it. Because UE4 Doc API reference is really poor on explaining each function works specially for non programmer like me. (I can’t even understand “Target is Kismet Math Library” which keep showing in the API reference) and it doesn’t show some example on how to use it.

• Make Vector from Axes.
  • Clamp Vector Size
  • Lerp
  • Break Rotator and Make Rotator
  • The meaning of “Offset” in function such “Add Actor Local/world Offset”

thank you.

“Target” on a node is the object you want the function to be called from.
The Math Library is existent throughout every Blueprint.

I think that most nodes are well described.
You should take some time to learn some vector math, it helps.

And even the Node’s titles are selfexplanatory.

Lerp is the shortterm for Linear Interpolate and uses a float from 0 to 1 to get from one value to another value linearly.
Break Something / Make Something splits a structure into its single components. Make recombines them. This is helpful when you want to access only one component of a vector for example.

Hi @r2art,

“Clamp” usually means “limit” a value to a specified range. So the Node Clamp Vector Size is limiting the size of the vector to a min or max. This is useful if you want to limit the range of the value (for example, limit rotation to a max of 90 degrees).

Lerp, as Raildex mentioned, is a linear interpolate between 2 values. Basically its a way to smoothly go from one value to another. Say you want to rotate your character towards another Actor. If you just use the Set Actor Rotation node, the rotation will be instant. However, if you use a Lerp, it will smooth out rotation towards that actor.