Noob Dev sandbox FPS startpoint questions. (for my game)

I am very new to the unreal engine, and i want to make a rather ambitious game.

I play a lot of arma 3, and build and survive games.
I wanted to make a merger of the 2 of sorts.

A large open sandbox world, in a arma 3 wasteland sort of atmosphere.
SO a large open MP map with things to explore and find and fight over.

BUT i want a heavy focus on scavenging, looting and crafting.
It will be in a post apocalyptic setting, say maybe 100 years after disaster but also a futuristic diesel punk scifi setting.
So more advanced weapons hover vehicles, energy tech etc, but its all built up from scavenged scrap, you tier up from scavenging and augmenting your equipment.

So say you want a rifle, you build a basic single shot bolt rifle, then you add to is, better sights, a larger ammo capacity from a variety of magazine types, different firing modes, so say you want the rifle to be a automatic battle rifle
you add an automatic firing mechanism, but there will be wear on weapons and quality of parts so no 2 weapons will be the same, allowing for custom loadouts depending on your style and current crafting level.

You will be able to fight other players over scavenge sights, as well as quest points, think random events as well as random gen NPC quests.
When you kill another group, you can scavenge them, they drop equipment you can use or scrap, as well as any vehicle they had, you can break them down or use them also.

PvE elements will come from mutated creatures, i am a big zombie fan so that will work into it to some degree, monsters will range from your more typical slow lumbering zombie type mutant, to wall crawlers, ranged monsters, flyers and varying big types, so the best loot will spawn in dangerous hot zones, not too bad if your going in quiet, but when you are fighting other players over points in these zones your fighting draws attentions.