Newbie with asset creation questions

Hi everyone!
Newbie here with everything regarding game development.
Been lurking the forums for a few weeks, watching a few tutorial vids on youtube and learning a bit of everything (blueprints, modelling, level design) and the applications used.
However I’m missing some key information and haven’t found explicitly what I’m looking for: game assets complete workflow, that is from idea/concept art to in game asset usable for UE.
I’m well aware of modelling, rigging, animating and exporting but the rest are completely alien to me. I’ve been reading about baking, normal maps, diffuse maps, amount of tris and polygons but I don’t understand yet what/why/how.
So, after creating a model (let’s say Blender because that’s most likely what I’ll use), what then and what software do you guys use for each step?
For now I’m interested in creating static and skeletal meshes (weapons, characters, furniture, props, etc) for use in UE4.
Steps:
0-Idea/Concept
1-Modelling in your favorite app (I’ve been learning blender and zbrush)
?-UV unwrapping/mapping/texturing (substance painter? gimp/photoshop)
?-Retopology (3d coat?)
?-Lightmaps
?-Export as FBX
?-Import to UE as FBX
#-Done!

Thanks for the help.

Edit: Looks like I posted in the wrong forum, could a Mod move this thread to Development Discussion->Content Creation?

That’s actually an interesting question, I’m a complete noob too and would be very interested in an answer

Hey there,
While most modeling software out there can do the same jobs each one has its own strengths and weaknesses and is no perfect software by any means.
Workflow is usually a very open question and depends largely on 3 factors. Cost, Preference and Goal.