Newbie tries making a fantasy city generator

I’m an artist and an Unreal-newb currently trying to come to grips with Blueprints and the wonderful world they offer. I’m not used to actually making stuff DO something except trying to make it look good, so this is incredibly fascinating to me. I’m also completely out of my depth, but relishing the opportunity to learn.

Long story short: I want to make a fantasy city generator, as a part of an even greater RPG scheme far out on the horizon. So far, I’ve reverse-engineering and stuffed my own meshed into the procedural flowerbed found in the Blueprints example project, since I couldn’t even begin to put something like that together from scratch just yet. That’s left me with seed-based, random cities that can be modified to whatever size and density I want, and which auto-conforms to the ground below it. It even looks kind of decent, if still a bit sparse and samey:

As a first test bed, this is lovely and I’m quite proud, but it’s pretty far from being usable for anything since it’s just spawning everything randomly without any system behind it. And it’s quickly becoming apparent to me that I could use some guidance if I want to take this to the next level.

So, I wanna begin a more ambitious Version 2, on which I’d welcome any input or links to relevant tutorials:

• First and foremost, I wanna randomly generate the buildings somehow. I can build the parts, no sweat, but actually making the system for putting them together is still a mystery to me. Optimally I want some kind of snapping node-based system with interchangeable parts, so I could exchange window types and roofs and all that randomly from a set pool of meshes.
  • Then there’s the whole business of actually getting roads in there, and having the buildings actually line up to those roads. Judging from what I’ve seen out there, that stuff is harrrrrrd (but oh so cool).