Newbie question - dynamically generated world

Hi guys, this question will probably be very basic. I’m not even sure I ask in the right part of the forum, because it kinda touches multiple aspects. But, here goes.

I’m trying to create a dynamic world with multiple “levels” - multiple layers one above another, that are connected at a few points so the players can go through from one to another. The levels should be based on a grid system, with tiles having attributes like traversability etc. In one moment, only one of these levels should be visible to the player (and camera), but all of them should still continue to simulate the world.

Now, I’m not asking about the dynamic generation or other algorithms. I’m very experienced programmer, I have implemented many complex algorithms including some world generation. I am completely new to Unreal Engine though. And that’s where my questions lead.

I noticed that there is something called “Level”, which looks basically like a tree of Actors. You also have that Actor, that also consists of a tree of Meshes. There is also a Scene, that looks very similar to Level, grouping some Actors together to a tree that can be manipulated as a whole. Feel free to correct me if I’m wrong.

Now, the actual questions:

1. Is it necessary to have an instance of the Level class in your game? Does Unreal Engine require it?

2. If you would try to generate a world, would you use the Level class for it? Would you start with an empty Level and attach Actors to it during the generation process?

3} What class is right for one level of the dynamically generated world, given that all should receive Ticks, but only one should be visible at a given moment? A Scene? Something else?

1. Given that the world should be generated on the fly, it will need to be split into chunks that load and generate on their own. What is the preferred class for such a chunk? Scene again, given that it groups some Actors (obstacles, etc.) together? Or maybe an Actor?