Newbie Lost

Hi,

I’m new to Unreal engine and I am lost. I went through a couple of tutorial playlists on youtube from Epic but it seems like those tutorials are mostly meant for people who already understand what they’re doing. I am going through the Documentation right now now I am not sure how I should progress through it.

What order should I go through the documentation? Which things should I learn first? Which things should I know by heart? Are there any books or videos out there that are good for learning the basics?

Hi YellowPeople,

What is it that you are struggling to understand?
Going through the tutorial playlists might seem a bit daughting but they are pretty well structured to give a basic understanding of the tools at hand.

The Unreal Engine youtube channel has few playlists dedicated to just introducing the viewer to the editors and its tools (on a basic level).
Go through the ‘Get Started with UE4’ playlist if you have not already as this will give a general introduction to the editor.
From here, watch the ‘Intro to the UE4 Editor’ playlist which runs through the editor on a basic level and introduces some of the windows & tools you will work with within the editor.

If you are feeling at all better prepared after watching these playlists, definitely crack into one of the tutorial playlists such as ‘3rd Person Game with Blueprints (v4.8)’.

The playlists mentioned above are on outdated versions of the editor but I would assume the vast majority of the points discussed in the videos will be un-changed.

Let us know what you are struggling with and I am sure one of us can point you in a direction.

I have been learning UE4 in my free time for the last two years. Since I am a web and mobile developer in my daily job, game engine is totally new for me. And my advice for the old me will be, learn the basics.