Newbie Looking For Advice From Veterans

Hi everyone, first of all I would like to say that I am a complete newbie to game design and UE.

I was wondering how you veterans came to familiarizing yourselves with UE4. I have done quite a bit of the tutorials posted by Epic Games such as the Twin Stick Shooter, the inventory pickups, and the 3D game, but I still find myself quite lost. I have a basic understanding of the framework of creating a game but not enough specifics to actually create a game. I have a hard time remembering the names of the nodes and how they fit with each other and the different types of blueprints classes and their functions (and other things such as casting, references, UMG etc). I have been making notes along the way but it hasn’t been really effective.

If I were to do some small, basic projects to familiarize myself with everything, what type of projects do you recommend?

Any tips and advice are welcome!
Thanks in advance!

When you do a tutorial, was there a section, where you had most fun, or best understanding?
Search for things you like and learn them first.
Focus not a whole game, start with functions or materials. Add sounds, play with cues.
I would suggest to put anything in one project, perhaps someday you have something like a game, when you add only stuff you like.
Write down, what the mainfunctions of your game should be and follow that road, stick to it for a long time.
Build the rest around it.

I started writing down some stuff that seemed confusing to me when I started using Unreal here: UnrealStuff/TipsAndTricks.md at master · ntakouris/UnrealStuff · GitHub

I would also suggest watching all the starter/overview tutorials from Epic. Also, design a game and try to implement mechanics step by step by watching tutorials or by experimenting.
Keep in mind that you can always ask questions on answerhub if you can’t find anything by googling. Also, join Unreal Slackers :slight_smile: .