Newbie have some question

hi i’m not programmer but BP make me can make game! thank you vvvery much
because i have no program knowledge and use only BP , recently i have some questions expecially optimazation , performence things

1.Which one is better just always doing some action(set variables , set umg , call function…) and using branch so don’t do that action if already have action’s result?
is it waste of memory to set value A what is already A? (Does UE automaticcaly judge “Oh it’s already have same result, this action means nothing. I don’t have to do that” or not? )
but i think branch also need memory to check condition
how should i do?

2.is it bad to have too many output in function and macro?
i’m using same function to many other case which need different input
so just ouput all thing and use only need node but is it better seperate function?
like 1 qusttion does function just always oupt all thing and need cost for each of them or just connected one only?

3.Spamming promote to variable is bad?
I have many UMG and almost all of them do get pawn,cast pawn,promote pawn…
and many many reference for communication UMG to UMG
is there a better way?

Sorry, I think you might need to give some examples… :slight_smile:

1 - Yes we need exemple.

2 - Yes it’s better to separate, it’s better for you too for readability, performance wise, it depend of your functions but each time you create an output you use memory. If you have one func that is often use and with a lot’s of output you’ll spend memory more than what you need if you use only one of these.